#8 Who were the apostles and who were the brothers of Jesus?

If you can find an answer to this question, then you can answer the question concerning the perpetual virginity of Mary and her relationship to Joseph.

First let us clarify that Jesus’ brothers were called James, Joseph, Simon and Judas.

Jesus had twelve apostles whose names were:

Jesus had two apostles called James: The older one was the son of Zebedee and the younger one the son of Alphaeus. The other son of Zebedee was John.

There were two apostles called Simon: Simon son of John who became Peter and Simon the Zealot The other son of John was Andrew.

There were three apostles called Judas: Judas son of James or Thaddeus; Judas Iscariot; Judas known as Thomas

Thomas or Talmai means ‘twin’ in Aramaic.  His name was not twin, but Judas. Bartholomew  is bar-talmai which means ‘son of twin’.  This apostle’s actual name was Nathaniel.

The other apostles were Matthew also called Levi, Philip and Matthias who replaced Judas Iscariot.  This totals twelve apostles plus one.

Basically there are three people here called James and four people called Judas.  If we can identify who ‘Judas son of James’ was, then the key questions can be answered.

Published by clarevmerry

Christian - Bible - Catholic belief reassessment website. How does Catholic belief relate to the Bible? An even-handed approach by the author who has been a Catholic as long as she has been an Evangelical.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: